Movie Genre: Drama and Comedy
Writers: Alan Ball
Rating: R (includes strong sexual content, language, violence and drug content)
Starring: Kevin Spacey, Annette Bening, Thora Birch, Mena Suvari and Wes Bentley.

Movie Information: A story about Lester Burnham (Kevin Spacey), a father who struggles from a mid-life crisis becomes intrigued by his daughter’s friend, Angela, thus this sparks him to make some major changes of himself to refill his joy for life once more.

Movie Review: American Beauty is Sam Mendes‘s fascinating depiction of human ideology and the urgency of projecting a great image. Without a doubt, this film has constructive messages that will provoke thoughts of all ages, able to reach down to my heart personally and plant a deep inspiration on living my life differently. The story of the main cast, not only Lester Burnham is tragically relatable, that explores powerful themes such as family importance, fear of judgment and the definition of beauty. Kevin Spacey gives a phenomenal performance that is truly heartfelt, in my eyes the best of his acting career! 😀 In fact, the rest of the main characters were stellar and stunning as well. The script is written so authentically excellent by Alan Ball, rich, warm, hilarious and touching – yet again beautiful. The cinematography is astounding and mesmerizing, especially an extremely praiseworthy scene that didn’t use one bit of CGI. Thomas Newman‘s score for the film is everlastingly enjoyable and euphoric, with the soft and calming tone that prolongs in me personally. The film has the ability to let us reflect on our lives, on how we see things and value things, it sets an agenda on how we should live our lives and what we really want. Eventually, I experienced an extraordinary discovery towards the end of the film, that have tremendously change my perception on people and appearances. Lastly, I feel so much sympathy and understanding towards the characters, and it hit me hard like a truck. Part of my top 10 favorite film, this movie is as beautiful as a masterpiece.

Bite by Bite Movie Details Score!
This is my originally created list of movie details, all having the maximum score of 10, and a minimum score of 0. These are just my personal scores on how I felt about the details of the movie, if you have any objections, disagreements or agreements too, feel free to comment back, let’s have a discussion!

Story: 10/10
Character Development: 10/10
Intensity and Climax: 8.5/10
Originality: 7/10
Emotional Connection: 9.5/10
Discovery: 9/10
Script: 10/10
Camerawork: 8.5/10
Soundtrack/Score: 9/10
Message: 10/10

Total average score: 9.15 out of 10 Popcorn Bites! 🙂
Personal Grade: Awesome Syrup! A+


There is so much I can talk about when it comes to American Beauty, but I prohibit myself from giving out any spoilers or details, as this movie is best to be experienced with very little knowledge. It’s one of the deepest films I have yet to watch, and it’s a blessing that I have found this sensational piece of cinema. ❤ I would be lying to tell you that I didn’t LOVE American Beauty, this is an absolutely high recommendation! 😀 Get Popcorn and Get Comfy, this is Captain Popcorn!

(Image Credits: First Image – Themacguffinmen, Second Image – debooworks)

