Movie Genre: Drama
Writers: Shana Feste (screenplay), Jordan Roberts (screenplay), Michelle Wildgen (based on her book) 
Rating: R (includes some sexual content, strong language and brief drug use)
StarringHilary Swank, Emmy Rossum, Josh Duhamel and Jason Ritter.

Movie Information: After a classical pianist (Hilary Swank) has been diagnosed with ALS, a brash college student (Emmy Rossum) attempts her best at being her caretaker.

Movie Review: One way to put my experience when watching You’re Not You, is a ceaseless powerhouse of intimate emotions. The gifted cast was the true backbone of the film, especially the incredibly talented Hilary Swank on portraying Kate, an ALS patient so hauntingly real, nonetheless she was elegant, sweet and honest. Not to mention Emmy Rossum (one of my favorite actresses since the film) also had an equally strong performance as Kate’s caretaker, full of charisma, life and authenticity as Bec, the hot mess she is <3. Both of their performances and chemistry alone, was enough to bound me to my seat and astound me to personal territory. Movies like You’re Not You, can let you have a really personal experience with the characters struggling from a certain disease such as ALS, and I really have more knowledge on ALS and its symptoms. It’s scary. This may just be a film, but I was heavily affected not only by the film, but to know that this disease is out there now with countless patients. Unfortunately, there were some characters that didn’t seem too rational or sensible, it got irritating and bothering but perhaps people like that do exist in the world, so it’s not really a “negative” for the film. Furthermore, the transitions in between scenes, were sometimes a bit off, it wasn’t done smoothly and had sudden switch of tone. To finish it off, I felt that I bonded with the characters in the film like we had a virtual friendship, and there is deeply seated love that resonates with me long after my viewing of the movie. I was motivated, inspired, moved, and I had immense personal growth from this film, definitely a big recommendation from me. 🙂

Bite by Bite Movie Details Score!
This is my originally created list of movie details, all having the maximum score of 10, and a minimum score of 0. These are just my personal scores on how I felt about the details of the movie, if you have any objections, disagreements or agreements too, feel free to comment back, let’s have a discussion!

Story: 8/10
Character Development: 9/10
Intensity and Climax: 8/10
Originality: 6/10
Emotional Connection: 10/10
Discovery: 8/10
Script: 8/10
Camerawork: 8/10
Soundtrack/Score: 8/10
Message: 8.5/10

Total average score: 8.15 out of 10 Popcorn Bites! 🙂
Personal Grade: Awesome Sauce! A


You’re Not You might not be a film that is very well crafted, but it’s definitely one of my all time favorite films, as I’m a guy who likes to be transformed into a world through film and feel strong emotions from the diversion. This film definitely does that for me, and I could not express more on how I love this movie. Have a great time watching this film with your loved ones and friends, Get Popcorn and Get Comfy, this is Captain Popcorn!

(Image Credits: Movie Poster – PSARIPS, First Image – The New York Times, Second Image – The Drifter)

