Movie Genre: Animation, Drama
Writers: Joan G. Robinson (novel),
Keiko Niwa (screenplay),
Hiromasa Yonebayashi (screenplay),
Masashi Ando (screenplay),
David Freedman (screenplay).

Rating: PG [Parental Guidance] (includes thematic elements and smoking)
Starring: Sara Takatsuki (Anna), Kasumi Arimura (Marnie), Nanako Matsushima (Yoriko) and Hitomi Kuroki (Hisako).

Movie Information: Anna, an introverted and shy girl who doesn’t seem to fit around society, is sent to live with relatives in the countryside, she then finds an abandoned mansion that catches her curiousity. Therefore leading her to meet a mysterious and fascinating girl, named Marnie.

Movie Review: I absolutely loved this movie, with incredibly gorgeous animation by Studio Ghibli, this film was just stunning and beautiful! It had a greatly captivating story, that got me to really connect with the characters in a deep personal level. This movie was also really mature for a kid’s film, by not abusing the use of childish humour and exploring deeper stages of emotions that children or adolescents can go through. It has also an equally beautiful and touching soundtrack that is filled with serenity and wonder, adding so much more emotion throughout the film. Also to mention the emotional power this film brought out, it hit me in the heart like a speeding truck with immense emotional intensity. I was so hooked on to Anna and Marnie’s friendship, being one of the closest and most touching ones I have experience in a film. Excellent voice performances by Sara Takatsuki and Kasumi Arimura, that were really realistic and well synchronized with the animations. I also loved the supernatural and mystifying vibe the film gave, giving the mysteriousness of Marnie even more effect! 🙂 It sadly doesn’t have much replay ability, as the feels of the movie slowly fades upon multiple viewing, but still nonetheless, it is still a must-watch for both children and adults! 😀

Bite by Bite Movie Details Score!
This is my originally created list of movie details, all having the maximum score of 10, and a minimum score of 0. These are just my personal scores on how I felt about the details of the movie, if you have any objections, disagreements or agreements too, feel free to comment back, let’s have a discussion!

Story: 8.5/10
Character Development: 9/10
Intensity and Climax: 5/10
Originality: 8.5/10
Emotional Connection: 10/10
Discovery: 9/10
Script: 9/10
Animation: 9.5/10
Soundtrack/Score: 9/10
Message: 10/10

Total average score: 8.75 out of 10 Popcorn Bites! 😀
Personal Grades: Awesome Bomb! A
Anna-and-Marnie

I was almost out of water in my body, due to the massive flood from my eyes, this film is a pure work of art, I really want you all to go watch this film, have a great time with your kids and parents, there isn’t a single bit of this movie that I find childish or immature, instead it’s the total opposite! Definitely give this movie a chance, and I hope you all liked my first anime movie review, till then Get Popcorn and Get Comfy, this is Captain Popcorn!

(Image Credits: Movie Poster – We Got This Covered, First Image – The Scruffy Nerf Herder, Second Image – FanAddict22)

 

